Just a quick trip to Plymouth!

I’m currently on a month long break from school, and Exeter is a little weird right now. It’s very empty, there’s not many people left on campus, and after I got back from Amsterdam I felt like I was going a little crazy.

I made a spontaneous decision at about 1am that I had to get out of town, even if it was just for a day. I pulled up a map of South Devon, looked at my options, and decided to take a quick trip to Plymouth.

I went by myself, without any real plans as to what I wanted to do, and ended up having an incredible afternoon. I mainly spent it by the water, wandering around The Hoe and the areas of town beside the harbor.

I have an obsession with the ocean and water. Let me clarify, I don’t always like being IN the ocean because I’m terrified of fish and what’s under my feet. But I love, love, LOVE being by the ocean and watching the water. I loved Plymouth for that reason. I loved sitting by the water, smelling the sea-air, listening to the waves come in, and watching the boats go by.

I spent most of my afternoon by The Hoe, had lunch at the fantastic Terrace Cafe overlooking the entire harbour, and then ended up wandering around, taking in the Smeaton Tower Lighthouse, and walking around the perimeter of the Royal Citadel, a 17th century military fortress that was the most important defense for any attack on Britain from the sea.

What a beautiful area to visit, I’ll definitely be back.

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Main entrance to the Royal Citadel

Main entrance to the Royal Citadel

 

Image

Image

Royal Citadel walls

Image

Cannon from 1811 overlooking the water

Image

Old gravestones tucked into the walls

Bonus photo from my train ride home

Bonus photo from my train ride home

Leave a Reply

